Welcome to the Fall edition of HumanTouch. In this issue, we showcase some of the 2022 Award Winners (more to come!), provide details on the upcoming Honors Gala, share highlights from our participation in the AOA House of Delegates Annual Meeting, link to a new AOF award...and so much more!

We are proud to recognize this year's State Emerging Leaders.

Nominated by state peers, these 15 exceptional early career Osteopathic Physicians have demonstrated their commitment to excellence and expertise in improving the lives of patients through direct patient-centered care and advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of Osteopathic medicine.

From this group, one will receive the James M. Lally, DO, National Emerging Leader Award which will be announced at the American Osteopathic Foundation's Honors Gala on Friday, October 28 in Boston, MA!

The AOF State Emerging Leaders will also be featured in the 2023 Best Hospitals edition of US News and World Report on newsstands in mid-September.

Residents of the Year Banner

In partnership with specialty societies, the AOF’s Outstanding Resident of the Year Award is given annually to honor and recognize outstanding residents and acknowledge professional excellence. This year, along with our partners, we are pleased to recognize 10 incredible Osteopathic Residents.

Outstanding Residents of the Year 2022
National Academy of Medicine Banner
R. Sterling Haring, DO

R. Sterling Haring, DO, MPH has been selected as the National Academy of Medicine’s - NAM Osteopathic Medicine Fellow for 2022. Dr. Haring is a pain medicine physician at Tift Regional Medical Center in Tifton, GA, and a doctoral candidate at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

His research includes a focus on the role of health systems and policy on patient outcomes and injury prevention. The NAM Fellowship in Osteopathic Medicine is fully funded by the American Osteopathic Association, the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, and the American Osteopathic Foundation.

Read Full Press Release

Loyalty in Action, Word, and Deed Award Banner
Dr. Joseph Giaimo and Dr. Barbara Ross-Lee
Dr. Joseph Giaimo and Dr. Barbara Ross-Lee

Each year, during the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) House of Delegates meeting, the American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) honors the AOA outgoing president, paying tribute to their leadership and philanthropic ideals that exemplify the legacy of AT Still.

This year, AOF President, Dr. Barbara Ross-Lee presented outgoing AOA President, Dr. Joseph Giaimo, with the prestigious Andrew Taylor Still, DO - Loyalty in Action, Word, and Deed medallion, in gratitude for his service and contributions to the field.

Covid 19 Osteopathic Hero Award
Nurse Covind Testing

The Foundation is proud to announce the recently established COVID-19 Osteopathic Hero Award. This award honors the contributions of healthcare professionals across the country to the public health of our communities during our nation's greatest health crisis.

Up to twenty financial awards of up to $1,000 each will be given by the end of December 2022 to selected healthcare professionals including practicing DOs, residents, Osteopathic medical students, nurses, MDs, teachers, pharmacists, or office staff, who proved invaluable service during these trying and unprecedented times.

Nominations will be accepted on a rolling basis beginning in August, with awardees announced at the end of each month, through December 2022. Additional information, eligibility requirements and access to the nomination portal can be found on our website.

Grants, Scholarships, and Awards Banner

Calling all Osteopathic Medical Students! There are some great scholarships and grants available from the AOF and the SOMA Foundation.

American Osteopathic Foundation Fall Scholarships and Grants

  • Burnett Osteopathic Student Researcher Grant.
  • Deadline: Thursday, October 6.

Click here for eligibility information and to apply.

SOMA Foundation Fall Scholarships and Grants

  • A.T. Still Memorial Scholarship, funded by Physician Loans
  • Community & Preventative Medicine Scholarship, funded by the Osteopathic Founders Foundation
  • Dr. Robert S. Juhasz Innovative Leadership in Osteopathic Medicine Scholarship, funded by Dr. Robert S. Juhasz
  • New Member Scholarship, funded by the Advocates of the American Osteopathic Association
  • Women in Medicine Scholarship, funded by the National Association of Osteopathic Foundations
  • International Medicine Scholarship

Deadline for all SOMA Foundation scholarships and grants: Monday, October 3.

Click here for eligibility information and to apply.

The American Osteopathic Foundation serves as the fiscal sponsor of the Student Osteopathic Medical Association Foundation (SOMAF)

2022 Honors Gala Banner
2022 American Osteopathic Foundation Gala Logo

Save the Date for the 2022 Honors Gala - Friday, October 28, 2022, both online and in person in Boston, MA!

We are grateful for all of our sponsors committed to making the 2022 Honors Gala a tremendous success! Bookmark the 2022 Honors Gala webpage to check on updates about the online auction, the 2022 award recipients, and the main event!

Create Your Legacy Banner

We are so grateful that since we underwrote the FreeWill platform at the beginning of the year, more than 100 individuals in our Osteopathic community have created their wills using this tool and we are humbled by those who included a gift to the American Osteopathic Foundation.

We invite you to begin creating your legacy and ensuring what you love most is protected for the future. It's quick and easy and it's our gift to you.

Create Your Legacy

Staff Banner
2022 Staff

Contact a Staff Member

Stay connected with the AOF!

Follow us on social media & share this email with a friend.