AOF’s State Emerging Leader Awards recognize exemplary new physicians in practice from across the country who have consistently gone above and beyond. Each State Osteopathic Association has the opportunity to nominate an early-career leader. One physician will be selected per state in concert with the state association.

NOTE: From this outstanding pool of State Emerging Leaders, all names received by May 15, 2023 will be reviewed for the prestigious James M. Lally, DO, National Emerging Leader Award. This latter award, given in Dr. Lally’s name, serves to honor a new physician in practice who achieves the highest possible level of distinction, whose leadership inspires others, whose noticeable accomplishments motivate those around them, and whose medical knowledge, combined with patient empathy enrich the lives of those they serve.


Learn more about our most recent State Emerging Leaders and the James M. Lally, DO, National Emerging Leader.

Access the Nomination Portal

The American Osteopathic Foundation’s Emerging Leader Award, is named after James M. Lally, DO, for his exemplary leadership, generous spirit, and unquestionable integrity. Dr. Lally continues to dedicate his career to practicing the philosophy and tenants of Osteopathic profession. Through this service, has made a significant impact locally, nationally, and internationally.