The Paul S. McCord, DO, Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a third-year student at Midwestern University/Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine (MWU/CCOM) in recognition of their dedication to providing medical services in underserved or disadvantaged areas. The AOF is proud to recognize Katelyn A. Wray, OMS III, as the 2020 recipient of this scholarship.

Student Doctor Wray excels academically, and she is equally passionate about volunteer projects that improve the lives of people in her community: “As a future physician, I believe that it is imperative to address healthcare disparities and advocate for underserved populations.” She has worked on research projects addressing drug safety and wellness in young children and has amassed more than 150 hours volunteering in local community health clinics.

She is actively involved in the Student Osteopathic Medical Organization (SOMA) and several osteopathic student specialty groups. Previous awards include Silver Recognition for TOUCH Volunteer Hours in 2019 and the Frederick E. Hecker, DO, and Robert Magliocco, DO, Memorial Scholarship.