The American Osteopathic Foundation and collaborating osteopathic state organizations have recognized eight inspiring young osteopathic physicians (DOs) by naming them as our2021 State Emerging Leaders:

Richard Calderone, DO serves as Forrest General Hospital’s Anticoagulation Clinic Medical Director, Medical Director of its IMPACT “Pre-Op” program, and on the core faculty for its family medicine residency program. Recognized in partnership with the Mississippi Osteopathic Medical Association.

Mehrdod Ehteshami, DO, MPH, is an emergency physician with Tanner Health System/Higgins General Hospital, chairs of the Emergency Department & Public Health at West Georgia Health, and faculty at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine-Georgia Campus. Recognized in partnership with the Georgia Osteopathic Medical Association.

Kendra Gray, DO, Dr. Gray is a board-certified obstetrics and gynecology physician specializing in high-risk pregnancies as well as an obstetric hospitalist at Phoenix Perinatal and Associates in Mesa. Recognized in partnership with the Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association.

Travis Groth, DO, a hospitalist and a family medicine physician with the Blount Memorial Physician Group in Alcoa, is Vice President of TOMA’s East Region and former President of the Blount County Medical Society. Recognized in partnership with the Tennessee Osteopathic Medical Association (TOMA).

Sean McCann, DO, is on the clinical faculty for the Advent Health Family Medicine Residency in East Orlando, training family medicine residents in an outpatient clinic setting, and lead team physician and medical director for the Orlando Solar Bears ECHL Hockey team. Recognized in partnership with the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association.

Chelsea A. Nickolson, DO, Associate Program Director and Director of Osteopathic Education at Grandview Medical Center in Dayton, Ohio, serves on the OOA Board of Trustees and is the new physician in practice representative on the American Osteopathic Association Board of Trustees. Recognized in partnership with the Ohio Osteopathic Association (OOA).

Mitchell W. Smith, DO, a practicing allergist and clinical immunologist at Allergy Partners of Greenwood, served as President of the Indiana Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society and sits on the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology’s Allergic Skin Diseases Committee. Recognized in partnership with the Indiana Osteopathic Association.

Regan A. Stiegmann, DO, MPH, is a Major in US Air Force Medical Corps and Flight Surgeon for the 10th Operational Medical Readiness Squadron, 10th Medical Group, USAF Academy. She is on faculty at Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine and the University of Colorado School of Medicine. Presented in partnership with the Colorado Society of Osteopathic Medicine.

Sarah Wolff, DO, a family physician with Providence Medical Group, is also the Clinical Rotations Coordinator for Western University of Health Sciences, on the board of the Heatherington Foundation, and was the first student on the OPSO Board of Directors. Presented in partnership with the Osteopathic Physicians & Surgeons of Oregon (OPSO)

The State Emerging Leader Award honors outstanding early career physician leaders. Each state osteopathic association has the opportunity to nominate an exceptional DO as their State Emerging Leader. All State Emerging Leaders are considered for the annual James M. Lally, DO, National Emerging Leader Award.