The American Osteopathic Foundation is proud to announce the election of Dawn Tartaglione, DO, FACOS, DFACOS as President of the Board of Directors for a one-year term beginning January 1, 2023. Dr. Tartaglione has served on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees since 2017 and most recently served as President-elect.

Dr. Tartaglione is a board-certified neurosurgeon specializing in diagnosing and treating disorders of the nervous system, including the brain and spinal cord. She is currently the Medical Director of Neurosurgery for Bayhealth Neurosurgery in Delaware.

“Dawn Tartaglione is a well-respected leader in the Osteopathic profession, who has achieved success in many areas. The Foundation has been the fortunate beneficiary of her committed leadership for the past five years,” said American Osteopathic Foundation CEO, Rita Forden. “I have no doubt, that Dr. Tartaglione’s board experience, professional acumen, and philanthropic spirit will lead the Foundation to new heights.”

In 2003, Dr. Tartaglione became the first female Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine to become a board-certified neurosurgeon. Since then, she has served as the president of the American College of Osteopathic Surgery and has administered neurosurgery board examinations for more than a decade. She has also served as Assistant Professor at Michigan State University, Midwestern University, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, and Drexel University.

She also completed the Ohio University Health Policy Fellowship in 2019, furthering her interest in advocacy at the national level for changes in health policy that will improve our population's health.

Dr. Tartaglione has extensive volunteer leadership experience in addition to her tenure on the AOF Board of Directors - serving on the Truman State University Foundation board of directors and participating in the American Heart Association "GO RED" for Women group.

After earning her DO degree at Midwestern University/Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1995, Dr. Tartaglione completed a neurosurgery residency and traditional rotating internship through the Michigan State University Consortium.