The AOF is proud to award the 2023 AOF Karen J. Nichols, DO, LEAD Scholarship to Student Doctor Jordyn Austin.

Currently a fourth-year Osteopathic medical student at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine at Cherokee Nation (OSU-COM-Talequah), Jordyn has been actively engaged in various leadership roles, including participation in Oklahoma Advocacy Day, serving as Secretary for the Gold Humanism Honor Society, President and Cherokee Nation Representative for the Oklahoma Osteopathic Obstetrics and Gynecology Student Association, acting as an Ambassador for the OSU-COM Office of Admissions and Recruitment, representing the Learning Resources Committee for the OSU-COM Class of 2024, and mentoring through the Undergraduate Mentor Program.

Jordyn exemplifies the qualities of leadership and adaptability, which she believes will benefit her future endeavors. Douglas Nolan, DO, Associate Dean of Tribal Health Affairs at OSUCOM-Talequah, recognizes Jordyn as a “distinguished leader and advocate for the Osteopathic profession and underserved communities.”

Jordyn has received numerous honors and awards, including the Osteopathic Founders' Foundation Leadership Scholarship, the Oklahoma Educational Foundation for Osteopathic Medicine Endowed Scholarship, and the ACOG District VII John Gibbons Medical Student Award. She was named the 2023 Student Doctor of the Year by OSU-COM.

Recognizing Leadership, Excellence, Achievement, and Dedication, the AOF Karen J. Nichols, DO, LEAD Scholar Award highlights top-performing students nearing the end of medical school who are poised to become leaders within the Osteopathic profession.