The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) and American Osteopathic Association (AOA) are honored to name Samaneh Bolourchi, OMS IV, as the 2022 Presidential Memorial Leadership Award recipient.

Samaneh Bolourchi Named 2022 AOA/AOF Presidental Memorial Award Winner

Student Doctor Bolourchi is a fourth-year medical student at the Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine in California (TUCOM), where she is co-founder of the White Coats for Black Lives chapter, and the Student Health Advisory Committee.

She serves as national research representative for the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents, student member on the AOA Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation’s Diversity Task Force, and member of TUCOM’s Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Achievement Committee. Prior experience includes terms as president of the TUCOM Student Executive Council.

Samaneh Bolourchi's Accomplishments

Student Doctor Bolourchi previously completed the American Medical Student Association’s Leadership Program and earned a Master of Health Science at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

In 2022, she received the Kaiser Permanente Northern California Medical Student Scholarship and is a prior recipient of the American Osteopathic Foundation’s William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship and Sterling Welch, DO, Scholars Grant.

In her words, “It is critical that we support and uplift each other, and more importantly, have the courage to interrupt aggression.

As a student leader, it is extremely fulfilling to work towards a solution, to become part of the healthcare system that serves our community, prioritizing our vulnerable and marginalized populations.

Unity, teamwork, compassion, empathy, and collaboration are the key elements for achieving progress and moving forward.”

AOA & AOF Presidental Award Representation

AOF Board President Barbara Ross-Lee, DO, says “Student Doctor Bolourchi’s commitment to increasing minority representation and promoting diversity and inclusivity is inspirational.

Her advocacy for the underserved and willingness to stand up for health equity motivates others to do the same, changing medicine for the better.”

The AOF and the AOA jointly present one Presidential Memorial Leadership Award each year to an Osteopathic medical student who leads by example, motivates their peers, serves as catalysts for change, and inspires those around them.