The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) is proud to honor Oregon health care and business leader Jeff Heatherington with our 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Jeff has spent his distinguished career building healthy communities in the Portland, Oregon region. He is President of The Heatherington Foundation for Innovation and Education in Health Care, which has donated more than $10 million to support innovative health care strategies targeted at improving population health and ensuring the well-being of citizens.

The Heatherington Foundation is an outgrowth of FamilyCare Health, a health plan Jeff founded in 1984 to coordinate health benefits and access to care for approximately 130,000 Oregonian Medicaid and Medicare members. It was the first health plan in the state to integrate physical and mental health coverage and the first to attain certified Coordinated Care Organization status.

In 2019, the Heatherington Foundation made a historic $1 million donation to the AOF to expand the impact of the AOF’s William G. Anderson Minority Scholarship. Now one of the largest in our portfolio, the Anderson Minority Scholarship provides more support for minority students pursuing medical education and promotes diversity and inclusion in osteopathic medicine.

Jeff is also a committed volunteer leader. He sits on the AOF Board of Directors as well as the Boards of the Oregon Symphony, Oregon Health Council, and Oregon State Bar Disciplinary Board. In addition, he is one of the founders of the Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific-Northwest in Lebanon, Oregon.

Mr. Heatherington earned his BA in political science at Willamette University in Salem, Oregon, in 1965 received the school's Sparks Medallion in 2020. On the school's alumni board, Jeff has also endowed the Heatherington Scholars in Public Health and Heatherington Pre-Health Internship and Research Fund to expand health education opportunities.

The AOF Lifetime Achievement Award is the AOF’s highest honor. Established in 2008 and chosen annually by the AOF President, the Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes rare individuals who have changed osteopathic medicine for the better through commitment, advocacy, leadership and courage.