The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) has selected Aakangsha Jain, OMS III, as the 2021 recipient of its Presidential Memorial Leadership Award.

Student Doctor Jain is a fourth-year osteopathic medical student at the Nova Southeastern University Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine (NSU-KPCOM), where she serves as Treasurer of the Student Government Association and National Liaison Officer for the Student Osteopathic Surgical Association.

As a first-generation American, Student Doctor Jain understands the difficulty in lack of access to health care, especially for those less fortunate. She regularly volunteers at local hospitals and has completed medical mission trips. She previously served as President of NSU-KPCOM's Sigma Sigma Phi chapter, managing the largest community service organization on campus. She has also worked as a student researcher on several projects through Cleveland Clinic Florida’s Department of Neurosurgery and published studies.

Says Student Doctor Jain, “As a physician, I will continue to be involved and use my skills and passion for service to aid my community, especially in underserved areas such as the one I grew up in. I aspire to one day work alongside a team that strives for excellence by providing service and furthering knowledge.”

The AOF and the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) jointly present the Presidential Memorial Leadership Award each year to one osteopathic medical student who is making strides toward becoming top student leaders by motivating people and organizations to move from where they are to where they need to be.