The American Osteopathic Foundation is thrilled to announce five outstanding recipients of the 2021 William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship:

Jessica Bedele, OMS III, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. Student Doctor Bedele was born in Ghana, where she witnessed firsthand how “disparities in health care are literally killing people.” Now she is published researcher and dedicated volunteer who is driven to be a “conduit to change” for minorities, both in medicine and the patient population. She is Vice Chair of the Student National Medical Association’s International Affairs Committee, where she educates members about global health care disparities and organizes opportunities to provide aid to underserved communities.

Brandon Bishop, OMS II, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine. Student Doctor Bishop is currently part of a group examining the environmental impact of the waste produced by neurosurgical procedures and has also conducted research on match rates between DO and MD students in specific medical specialties. This year he was elected Student Government Association (SGA) Class Senator and previously served as SGA Executive Vice President. He says leadership is his way of “adding to the legacy of leaders such as Dr. William G. Anderson.”

Samaneh Bolourchi, OMS III, Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine – California. Student Doctor Bolourchi is leading efforts to improve diversity on TUCOM’s campus as a member of its Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Achievement Committee and President of its White Coats for Black Lives chapter. As the student member on the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation’s Diversity Task Force, she’s working to amend COCA standards to promote inclusion. She also is working on a research project advocating skin tone representation and inclusive diagnostic terminology in osteopathic medicine.

Chassidy Sumler, OMS II, Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine. Student Doctor Sumler is student ambassador, president of the Internal Medicine Club, and president of the school's American Medical Association student chapter. As a member of LMU-DCOM's MEND (Medical Education Navigating Diversity) Initiative, she works to develop materials that will educate future physicians on diversity and equip them with the tools to serve all populations.

Janelle Torres, OMS III, Nova Southeastern University Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine. Student Doctor Torres says her background as the first-generation daughter of minority immigrants has instilled in her a “commitment to giving back to others through service.” In medical school, she organizes events to serve most vulnerable, minority populations in the community. As executive secretary of the Hispanic Osteopathic Medical Student Association, she works to expand the Medical Spanish course to include cultural and conversational aspects and improve health literacy in Hispanic minority populations.

The AOF’s William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship recognizes today’s minority medical students who are on their way to becoming tomorrow’s doctors committed to a life-long pursuit to eliminate health care disparities and to enhance patient-centered care. Given annually, this prestigious scholarship provides $10,000 in scholastic support to each recipient.