The AOF and the Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association (AOMA) are thrilled to name Kendra M. Gray, DO, as the 2021 AOF National Emerging Leader.

Dr. Gray is a board-certified obstetrics and gynecology physician specializing in high-risk pregnancies with a passion for improving health care through conducting research, teaching medical students and reaching out in her community.

“Dr. Gray stands out among her peers through dedication and advocacy for the osteopathic profession and her patients. She is an enthusiastic young physician with a passion for lifelong learning, teaching, giving back, and innovation,” says Josephine Zammuto, AOMA Executive Director.

She is a current member of the AOMA Board of Trustees and sits on Arizona’s Health Care Cost Containment System pharmacy & therapeutics and maternal mortality review committees. She works as an obstetric hospitalist at Phoenix Perinatal and Associates in Mesa, Arizona, is an Associate Professor and Director of the OB/GYN Clerkship at A.T. Still University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona, and is a Clinical Professor at the University of Arizona (UA) College of Medicine.

As a researcher, Dr. Gray’s recent areas of focus included how race impacts medical education, cesarean wound closure in obese patients, and studying the body during the second and third stages of labor. She also sits on the Reviewer Panel for the Comprehensive Handbook Obstetrics & Gynecology.

Amid the rigorous demands of physician practice, teaching and research, Dr. Gray also makes time to volunteer in her community, organizing health care and clothing drives to help people experiencing homelessness.

Dr. Gray graduated from Midwestern University Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2014 and completed an obstetrics & gynecology residency and maternal-fetal medicine fellowship at the UA Banner University Medical Center.

The AOF National James M. Lally, DO, Emerging Leader Award recognizes new-in-practice DOs poised to become the next generation of leaders in medicine. From all State Emerging Leader recipients, one National Winner is chosen each year.