CHICAGO (OCTOBER 21, 2019) – The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) is excited to announce that Cole Zanetti, DO, MPH, will receive the James M. Lally, DO, National Emerging Leader Award for 2019.

Dr. Zanetti, a graduate of the University of North Texas Health Science Center-Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSC-TCOM), completed a family practice/leadership preventive medicine residency at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center in 2019. He also earned a Masters in Public Health from Dartmouth’s Geisel School of Medicine.

He currently serves as director of the Colorado Digital Health Track at Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Parker, Colorado, and primary care section chief for the Veteran Affairs-Eastern Colorado Health Care System.

AOF Board President Martin S. Levine, DO, says, “If given the opportunity, this incredibly humble physician would step aside to honor one of his colleagues. However, as modest as he may be, Cole Zanetti’s numerous accomplishments catapulted him to the top of the applicant pool and was unanimously chosen to receive AOF’s 2019 National Emerging Leader Award, named in honor of an Osteopathic icon, Dr. James M. Lally.”

Dr. Zanetti’s awards are many and include the American College of Physicians’ Primary Care Innovation Award, the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine’s Resident Teacher Award, and a Resident Teacher of the Year Award from Dartmouth.

“Dr. Zanetti is a national leader for the Osteopathic profession and a personal mentor…[his] passion, vision and unyielding pursuit serve as a guiding light for our profession into the future,” says Regan A. Stiegmann DO, MPH.

* * *

While only one James M. Lally, DO, National Emerging Leader Award is given out annually, AOF has been overwhelmed by the outstanding submissions presented each year by Osteopathic state associations. So much so, the AOF Board of Directors voted to expand the recognition component of the program in 2019.

Toward that end, every Emerging Leader submitted by their respective Osteopathic state association is being honored in 2019 through a variety of ways, including a listing in a national publication.

Each DO, in practice fewer than five years, who was nominated by their state association are leaders who inspire those around them. Their collaborative actions are having a profound impact on the Osteopathic medical profession and their tireless pursuit of excellence is enhancing public health and wellness.

As published and nationally recognized in the September edition of US News & World Report, the additional Emerging Leaders who were nominated from across the country in 2019 are:

  • Danielle Barnett-Trapp, DO / Indiana
  • Jennifer A. Belsky, DO / Ohio
  • Sumeet Goel, DO / Wisconsin
  • Adam C. Hunt, DO / Michigan
  • Andrew Levin, DO / Pennsylvania
  • Seger Morris, DO / Mississippi
  • Bradley Scoggins, DO / New Mexico
  • Jason A. Sneed, DO / Virginia
  • Errin Weisman, DO / Indiana

Learn more about the AOF’s awards programs.