The AOF is pleased to recognize Thomas Mohr, MS, DO, FACOI, FAOGME as the 2023 AOF W. Douglas Ward, PhD Educator of the Year

Currently Dean of the Sam Houston State University College of Osteopathic Medicine (SHSUCOM), Dr. Mohr has extensive experience in Osteopathic medical education. Dr. Mohr joined SHSU-COM from the Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine (ICOM), where he served as Dean and Chief Academic Officer, playing a pivotal role in obtaining full COCA accreditation for the College. Prior to that, he served as the Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education at the University of the Incarnate Word (UIWSOM) in San Antonio, where he contributed to the development and COCA-accreditation of their new School of Osteopathic Medicine and successfully launched multiple new residency programs through grants awarded by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Dr. Mohr's selflessness and dedication to excellence shine through to his students and colleagues, making him an aspirational example for other educators.

Thomas Mohr, DO’s compassion and dedication have not only influenced his colleagues but also the students who had the privilege of studying at ICOM. Matthew Puderbaugh, DO, was part of the first graduating ICOM class under Dr. Mohr's leadership. Dr. Puderbaugh remarks, "I have had the opportunity to follow Dr. Mohr's career in the years since he handed me my diploma on graduation day. He has provided leadership in the development of the University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine as Associate Dean for GME, and he led the Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine as Dean. His leadership was instrumental in ICOM's development through the attainment of full accreditation and graduation of their first class." Dr. Mohr's dedication and contributions have undoubtedly made a significant impact.

Dr. Mohr’s leadership experience includes serving as Interim and Acting Dean at Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Parker, Colorado, and as the Division Chief for General Internal Medicine at Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. Dr. Mohr is also the Founding Director and Designated Institutional Official (DIO) for the Mountain States Institute for Graduate Medical Education and Research, a nonprofit GME Consortium. Previously, he held the same roles for the Texas Institute for Graduate Medical Education and Research during his tenure at UIWSOM. Furthermore, he serves as a member of the Board of Deans for the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine and holds the Immediate Past Presidency of the Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators. His licensure with the Texas Medical Board remains active and current, allowing him to continue caring for patients as a board-certified Osteopathic Internal Medicine physician.

The designation Educator of the Year is awarded to an individual who not only emulates the Osteopathic profession’s highest standards of excellence in teaching, but one who is passionate about Osteopathic medicine has made a significant impact on the academic advancement of Osteopathic students and has made long-standing contributions to the profession in the academic arena.