The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) is pleased to announce that Natasha Bray, DO, MSEd, is the 2022 recipient of the AOF W. Douglas Ward, PhD, Educator of the Year Award.

Dr. Bray's Accoplishments

Dr. Bray is the Dean of the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine at the Cherokee Nation (OSUCOM-CN), the first tribally affiliated college of medicine in the country.

She was instrumental in creating this groundbreaking partnership to support tribal community health and educate primary care physicians interested in serving rural and Native American populations in Oklahoma.

“As I have progressed in my medical career, and more importantly in my career as an educator, creating systems that support access to care for patients has been central to my personal mission.

Providing Medical Opportunites for the Next Generation

The right care, for the right patient, at the right time should be our shared value. The opportunity to create educational opportunities for students living in rural and tribal communities so they can care for their communities is a privilege,” says Dr. Bray.

In her previous role as Graduate Medical Education (GME) Director for the Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Florida, she led efforts to create more than 100 new training positions in four programs over a five-year period.

Notable leadership positions include terms as member of the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) Board of Directors, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Board of Directors, and National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners’ Special Commission on Osteopathic Medical Licensure.

AOF Board President Barbara Ross-Lee, DO, noted “Dr. Bray is breaking new ground in medical education through her leadership, partnership, and commitment to rural healthcare. She is an example of the best of our profession and is modeling traits and commitment to each new class of students and residents whose education she touches.”

Dr. Bray graduated from OSUCOM in 1999, then completed a traditional rotating internship at Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and an internal medicine residency at Cambridge Health Alliance/Harvard Affiliated Hospital.

A lifelong learner, she completed the AOA Health Policy Fellowship program in 2009 and earned a Master of Science in medical education from Nova Southeastern University in 2013. She is board certified in internal medicine and addiction medicine.

The W. Douglas Ward, PhD, Educator of the Year Award is among the American Osteopathic Foundation’s highest annual honors. It recognizes a leader who consistently raises the standards of Osteopathic medical education and inspires their students to strive for excellence in all they DO.