The designation Educator of the Year is awarded to an individual who not only emulates the Osteopathic profession’s highest standards of excellence in teaching, but one who is passionate about Osteopathic medicine has made a significant impact on the academic advancement of Osteopathic students and has made long-standing contributions to the profession in the academic arena.


Learn more about our most recent Educator of the Year, Thomas J. Mohr, DO.

Take a look at the past Educator of the Year Award recipients.

The award was re-named in 2015 after W. Douglas Ward, PhD, passed away. Dr. Ward was a twenty-eight-year veteran of the American Osteopathic Association, a member of AOF’s inaugural grant review committee, and a recognized leader throughout the Osteopathic profession. Throughout his life, Dr. Ward was dedicated to raising the standard of Osteopathic medical education within the profession.