VCOM Student Receives Presidential Memorial Scholarship

October 26, 2019

The AOA/AOF Presidential Memorial Leadership Award recognizes an osteopathic medical student whose commitment to the principles of osteopathic medicine drives them to become a top student leader. The 2019 recipient of this prestigious award is Elizabeth Zipprer, OMS IV.

A fourth-year student at the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Carolinas Campus (VCOM-Carolinas), Student Doctor Zipprer is a leader on campus. Her experience includes terms as vice president of the VCOM-Carolinas Class of 2020 and of the Student Government Association. In these roles, she has mentored her fellow student leaders and collaborated with administrators to implement positive, lasting changes.

Student Doctor Zipprer has taken conscious, well-calculated steps to develop herself as a leader, particularly in increasing exposure to, and opportunities in, research for osteopathic medical students. She believes that making research opportunities available to students could provide them with the necessary experience to advocate for osteopathic interests on grant review committees or journal editorial boards once they graduate.

To address the unique challenges her peers face, Student Doctor Zipprer co-founded the VCOM-Carolinas Student Research Interest Group, which connects incoming students interested in research with faculty mentors and teaches them research basics, such as grant writing and creating project proposals. She also serves as chair of the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents’ National Osteopathic Student Research Committee and previously was a research fellow at the National Institute of Health.

Of her status as one of the nation’s top osteopathic student leaders, Student Doctor Zipprer says “Opportunity, personal conviction and passion have driven me into leadership. I am confident that as a physician, these same driving forces will make me an effective leader, osteopathic physician and an active member of my community.”

The AOF is proud to recognize Elizabeth Zipprer, OMS IV, as the 2019 winner of the AOA /AOF Presidential Memorial Leadership Award.

Elizabeth Zipprer, OMS IV
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Carolinas Campus