Golden Ticket Scholarship - 2019 Finalists

October 26, 2019

Now in its third year, the AOF Golden Ticket Scholarship program recognizes exceptional achievement in osteopathic medical students while helping to address the burden student loans place on future generations of physicians. Four finalists were selected, and the winner was announced at the Honors Gala.

Parker G. Adams, OMS III

Parker G. Adams, OMS III, entered medical school knowing it would be a challenge, but was driven by the knowledge he was in the right career. “I ‘survived’ undergrad, but I want to ‘conquer’ medical school. At times in the past I avoided leadership, responsibility, and hard work. No more. I was going to throw myself into my education and get every drop of worth out of it that I could.”

Now a third-year student, Student Doctor Adams has received many awards and scholarships, including the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons’ (MAOPS) Advocate of the Year Award. He has published an article on 21st century prescriptions tools in Medical Economics and given many poster presentations and lectures on cost-effective videography for modern anatomy education.  

He is active in his community and state osteopathic association, serving on the MAOPS Board of Trustees and founding the MAOPS Club at KCUMB-COM, which regularly hosts community outreach events like fun walks and senior game nights. In his words, “All my classes, leadership roles, and projects paradoxically motivated me rather than tired me out and I knew I was in the right place no matter the cost.”

Corinna Bayuk, OMS IV

Currently in her fourth year, Student Doctor Bayuk has long felt a connection to osteopathic medicine and sought out opportunities to advocate for current and future DO students. As the Student Osteopathic Medical Association’s Pre-SOMA Director, she has exposed thousands of pre-med students to the benefits of osteopathic medicine.

Student Doctor Bayuk earned a Master’s in Public Health with an infectious disease concentration from the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine at Virginia Tech. She has experience as a medical scribe and anatomy lab assistant and completed a public health and sustainable development internship through Global Brigades Ghana.

Of her wide experience as a leader, Student Doctor Bayuk says “Whether working with students from across the country or serving on a [Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation] taskforce with respected leaders and physicians, I have learned the importance of listening to others’ perspectives and using their personal strengths to facilitate sustainable change. The lessons that I have learned through leadership are directly related to my development as a future physician.”

WINNER: Zachary D. Hanson, OMS IV

Zachary D. Hanson, OMS IV, considers osteopathic medicine his calling, one he found after observing a DO demonstrate OMT on a patient: “I saw how Dr. Tettambel spoke passionately about caring for the underserved and how osteopathic medicine gave her tools to care for the most vulnerable and [those] in need. My life’s desires and skills aligned; I was called to unite everything I had learned and pursue an education as an osteopathic physician.”

Student Doctor Hanson is an extremely active in research. He is currently working on publishing a meta-analysis in orthopedic oncology to help create guidelines on limb salvage surgeries for bone cancer in children. He is publishing a case report on primary pericardial mesothelioma, a rare cancer that he helped diagnose during my internal medicine clinical rotation, among other initiatives.

His commitment to community outreach is just as impressive. A former youth minister, he sits on the Board of Directors for the Washington and Oregon Chapter of Healing the Children (HTC). He volunteers with the Special Olympics and a local feeding the homeless event each month. His career goal is to become a Hematologist-Oncologist and teach at a medical school.

Caitlin M. Marshall, MPH, OMS III

Caitlin M. Marshall, MPH, OMS III, was a chemistry teacher before starting her journey toward becoming a DO. “I think about my students very often…I always tried to be a role model to them, and I have tried to strive for academic excellence, as I encouraged them to do, and to lead with courage and humility.”

Student Doctor Marshall is a dedicated researcher who was chosen to be the student leader and first author on two research projects, both focusing on osteopathic medical student education. She was elected to leadership positions including the national vice president of the National Student Society of the American College of Osteopathic Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Dean’s Ambassador, and intern for the VCOM-Auburn Simulation Department. In addition, she regularly volunteers in her local community at health fairs, food banks and VCOM-Auburn outreach events.

Parker G. Adams, OMS III
Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences – Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
Corinna Bayuk, OMS IV
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine – Virginia Campus
Zachary D. Hanson, OMS IV, Winner
Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
Caitlin M. Marshall, MPH, OMS III
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) – Auburn Campus