2019 Prairie State Scholarship Awarded

October 26, 2019

The AOF Prairie State Scholarship was established by a generous donation from the Illinois Osteopathic Educational Foundation to recognize and financially support a third or fourth year osteopathic medical student who graduated from an Illinois high school to help defer the cost of medical education. Recipients must exemplify the ideals of osteopathic medicine, excel academically and serve as an ambassador for the profession.

In 2019, Jessie Ann Flowers, OMS IV, was selected to receive the AOF Prairie State Scholarship. Student Doctor Flowers is currently enrolled at the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine (WVSOM). She is a clinical research assistant, a presenter on several ongoing research projects, and an active volunteer in her community. 

Her experiences as a court-appointed advocate for children and rotating through a neonatal intensive care unit have led her to her calling: “My vision for my future career as a pediatrician is to practice at a non-profit pediatric medical center caring for critically ill children…my ultimate goal is to help children going through challenging situations, just as I did, so they know they have a shoulder to lean on as they face their medical difficulties.”

Jessie Ann Flowers, OMS IV
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine