2018 James M. Lally, DO, Emerging Leader Award

October 8, 2018

The James M. Lally, DO, Emerging Leader Award recognizes DOs in practice less than five years whose accomplishments and actions have inspired and motivated others to improve the osteopathic profession and public health. This year, AOF is honored to name Ryan Michael Smith, DO, as the 2018 award recipient. Watch the award video here

Of winning, Dr. Smith says, “I am entering into a cohort of dedicated, inspiring leaders who have the potential to thrust osteopathic medicine forward at this important juncture in its history.  This award, to me, is the pinnacle of achievement for a developing leader in our field.”

Dr. Smith graduated from the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM) in 2013 and performed his postgraduate training in psychiatry at Harvard Medical Center, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and Tufts University Medical Center. He is currently a PhD candidate at the University of the Cumberlands in educational leadership, with a focus in the health sciences.

His leadership positions are almost too many to name. Dr. Smith is Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Director of the Division of Psychiatry at UNECOM, and Chief of Psychiatric Medicine at Eastport Health Care, where he is the sole psychiatrist in a hundred mile radius. He is also a member of the Maine State Board of Osteopathic Licensure and a Site Inspector for the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation. And, he authors and reviews examination question for the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners.

Of his many roles, Dr. Smith says, “I am continually looking for ways to expand myself both personally and professionally, and to find ways that my developing leadership skills can best be

utilized within our osteopathic medical family, particularly in the arena of osteopathic medical education.”

In 2018, Dr. Smith was inducted as a fellow of the National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators. Prior to that, he received the Marguerite Elliott, DO, Innovator of the Year Award in Clinical Medical Education from the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine in 2015, and the Maine Osteopathic Association’s Young Physician of the Year award in 2016. 

Cheryl Doane, DO, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at UNECOM, says, “ Dr. Smith is very impressive. He promotes osteopathic medicine and its philosophy, uses his skills to better the profession, has made noteworthy accomplishments during his time as a leader, and has made a positive impact through his contributions in education and osteopathic organizations.”

Ryan Michael Smith, DO