2015 Karen J. Nichols, DO LEAD Scholar Award

October 4, 2015

Tanya Hioe, a third-year osteopathic medical student is as a role model who leads by example, promoting community service through action and serving as an inspirational ambassador for the osteopathic profession.  

From DMU-COM SOMA Chapter President to the Sigma Sigma Phi Membership Committee Co-Chair, Student Doctor Hioe works tirelessly to use osteopathic medicine to improve public health, and has organized over 40 different activities from community service to political advocacy.  Under her leadership, the SOMA chapter also received the “Golden Femur” Chapter of the Year award.   

In addition, Student Doctor Hioe is actively engaged in teaching diagnostic skills to first-year students as a lead teaching assistant for the clinical medicine lab at DMU-COM.

Her experience as a student leader, Hioe says, is “marked by passion, integrity and extensive collaboration,” qualities she hopes to continue to nurture throughout her career as a DO and as an advocate for the osteopathic profession.   

Her demonstrated success as a leader and advocate and desire to make a difference in her community is why the AOF is honored to present the Karen J. Nichols, DO LEAD Scholar Award to Tanya Hioe, OMS III.

Tanya Hioe, OMS III
Des Moines University - College of Osteopathic Medicine